cheer up, charlie

Hi friends!

So I’ve decided to have a Halloween movie marathon, and by that I mean I will be watching all my favorite Halloween/candy/fall themed movies that are not in any way part of the “horror” genre (I don’t like scary movies). So far I’ve screened The Addams Family, Corpse Bride, and The Witches. (My all-time favorite is Hocus Pocus, but I’m saving it until we stop having 95F days) Last night, I decided to turn to a long-time favorite: Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory. I find that every time I watch this movie, I’m newly enchanted by it. From the very beginning, when the opening credits appear against hundreds of freshly-made chocolates, I’m hooked! (I don’t think I’m the only one who is incapable of watching these first 5 minutes without gorging myself on whatever chocolate I can find…. I hope I’m not, anyway…) I also secretly (well, now it’s not-so-secret) harbor a crush on Gene Wilder because of this film…

ANYWAY, since my copy of the movie exists on the VHS tape and was recorded from television, I decided to take full advantage of the DVD I’d received from netflix and watch some of the special features. I was beyond pleased when the recent interviews with cast members revealed that the German actor who played Augustus Gloop fulfils every German stereotype I’ve ever heard of! 

It’s not clear in this photo, but I believe he’s even wearing lederhosen. As all true Germans do. But seriously, how cute is that red bow?! He made sure to wear his absolute best for the interview, and has captured my heart in the process.

Just thinking about this movie makes me want chocolate… excuse me…

Leave a comment

Filed under silver screen

Leave a comment