everybody dance

So, as some of you may know, I’m a total sucker for movies that have choreographed dance numbers. Tonight I watched a new film that I’ve been wanting to see for months now, called Bran Nue Dae. It’s about an Aboriginal teenager who runs away from Catholic school to return to the girl of his dreams, complete with singing, dancing, technicolor scenery of Western Australia, and Geoffrey Rush as a Catholic Priest! It’s just as charming as it sounds, and so I decided to do a post on some of my favorite musical scenes from films. Here’s the one that inspired it!

Did I mention it’s pretty irreverent?

For the rest, I’m automatically eliminating any that appear in a traditional “musical” film, as if I don’t, there are just too many good ones!

A classic from Heart and Souls. The best part starts around 1:05

[500] Days of Summer. Definitely not my favorite movie, but I LOVE this scene!

Remember Heath’s debut? With the marching band?? So good.

This movie introduced me to this song, and for that I am eternally grateful!

Another recent one. This just makes me so incredibly happy every time I watch it! The best part is when they’re standing together alone on the platform and he kicks her playfully. JAI HO!

I’m sure I’ve forgotten some, but I think that’s enough for tonight

Oh, and the title of this post is a reference to one of the BEST musicals ever– Waiting for Guffman!

(it’s at 2:26, but you should really just watch the whole film. It’s amazing!)

Leave a comment

Filed under silver screen

Leave a Reply

